top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMainstream Magazine

ALYXX Talks About New Single "My Last Goodbye"


AUTHOR: Ori Rutledge


-What was the writing process like for “My Last Goodbye”?

I originally wrote the song on piano. All my songs are composed on piano first, even the heavier ones. This song came about very organically. I was giving myself a vocal warm up and I played the wrong note. It actually sounded really cool, so I went back and replayed it. Next thing I knew, I wrote half of the song. I didn’t plan out what my lyrical content would be, I just allowed my subconscious to be free.


- What inspired “My Last Goodbye”?

“My Last Goodbye” was inspired by my frustrations witnessing myself and my friends stuck in toxic relationships. We’ve all experienced that one way or another, whether it’s a romantic relationship, a friendship or even drugs and alcohol. The song is a reminder that you have the power to take back control of your life and that you deserve to be happy. Life’s too short to be miserable.


- Was it any different from your previous release(s)?

Yes. This song experiments with more metal elements. It’s goes outside the box sonically. I was also hands on during the entire process. In the past, I had sent my songs off to get mixed and mastered, but this time it was all done in house. I loved being a part of the whole song process because I was able to get everything exactly how I had pictured it.


- How are you hoping fans will react to the single?

I hope they’re excited about it and stream or download the song. I think this song has a really cool vibe, and I just hope everyone enjoys it.


- Will there be anything following the release?

Yes. I have a few things in the works, but I can say I have a show at Dingbatz in Clifton, NJ April 3rd.


- What’s the best breakfast food and why?

Bagels. I love bread and what better way to start the day.


- What is the weirdest/funniest question you’ve been asked in an interview

One time I was asked if pineapples should be on pizza. I said no, which apparently was the correct response.


- What artist would you like to tour with or open for?

I would love to tour with Evanescence or Saint Asonia.


- Strangest thing to happen while performing/on tour?

I forgot where I was playing, but I was singing my song “Don’t Let Go” and I look into the audience and see a bunch of people dancing around in slow motion. It reminded me of modern dance. I never thought of that song as a dancing type song, but I thought it was cool! Fast forward to my next show in a different state, and it happened again. Apparently, that song is hypnotic.


- Do you have anything you’d like to say to your fans?

I just want to say thank you for being so supportive of me. I’ve put my heart and soul into this and it’s an amazing feeling to have had such a positive response to my music.


Listen to "My Last Goodbye" and keep up with ALYXX here!


28 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page