top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMainstream Magazine

NYIKO Talks New Single "Like The Movies", Rom-coms, and Writing



Author: Ani Carlson


NYIKO's "Like The Movies" is the spring-time jam society needs in a time like this. Its bouncy and uplifting rhythm, think The Cure's hit "Boys Don't Cry", brings listeners into a clarified state of mind, effortlessly eliminating worry and stress. It's easy to get lost in an imaginary world of greenery and cherry blossoms while listening to the track; AKA, the perfect track to bump while in quarantine with the spark of your life.


Here's what NYIKO has to say about his beloved single, " Like The Movies". The artist gives a bit of insight into other aspects of his mind and work as well.




1. Set the scene of "Like The Movies" for us. Where were you when you wrote it, what's the backstory, where was your headspace?


Like most of my songs, I wrote “Like The Movies” in my bedroom in Los Angeles. It was the summer of 2017 and I had recently got out of a short-term romantic relationship. I was the one to end things, which was difficult, but it was the right thing to do for both of our sakes. My heart just wasn’t in it and I didn’t want to string this person along. After the fact, I had the realization that a lot of what shaped my idea of an ideal relationship was influenced by the television shows and movies I grew up watching. Shows like The OC and movies like The Notebook created these unrealistic and hyper-dramatic expectations of what love is supposed to be. I was compelled to reflect on the influence that those shows and films had on my past and, potentially, future relationships.



2. On the topic of movies, what's your favorite rom-com/romance movie of all time? How did it influence "Like The Movies"?


Though it’s nearly impossible for me to give a definitive answer, I saw “The Notebook” at an impressionable age and it stuck with me. I know that Nicholas Sparks has a tendency to be cheesy, but there are truly beautiful moments of dialogue and physical chemistry in that film. Just thinking about it pulls on my heartstrings. That film had a big influence on the lyrical scenery and emotional conflict of “Like The Movies.”



3. What are some of the pros and cons of collaborating with other artists on your music?


Collaboration of any kind is always an experiment. You never know exactly how it will turn out and that’s exciting. While I write the majority of my songs in solitude, I love bringing in collaborators at the production and fine-tuning phase. It’s a great way to hear something in a new way - like you’re hearing it through their ears, and almost always makes the final result better. I’ve been lucky enough to build a network of people that are on the same page - when we get it together for a session it flows organically and efficiently. The biggest con is if you’re working with someone that isn’t focused or isn’t actively adding anything to the track, though in my experience that’s been rare.



4. How does "Like The Movies" sonically differ from your previous EP "Crush"? What made you decide to switch things up?


The “Crush” EP which was created in collaboration with my friend and fellow producer The White Electric, is full of deep and moody synths, electronic percussion, and an almost r&b-leaning vocal approach. That EP was unique because The White Electric handled production and handled lyrics and melody. Furthermore, we did it all through email since they live in Boston and I’m in LA. It was a new challenge and a really exciting one at that.


After we finished “Crush,” I revisited demos that I had been sitting on for a while. “Like The Movies” was one of those demos. It’s in an entirely different lane than “Crush” and that’s due to the fact that I handled all of the production, writing, engineering, and mixing myself. Instead of late-night down-tempo electro, the instrumentation is high energy synth-infused post-punk with a full rock band. I get really excited when I’m writing and producing in that world.



5. What were a few bands or artists you had on repeat around the time of writing your upcoming single? This probably comes as no surprise, but I listen to The Smiths at least once per week. The Cure and New Order are constant inspirations as well. 6. How did the writing/recording process of "Like The Movies" contrast to that of previous songs? The demo for “Like The Movies” has been collecting virtual dust for almost two years before I revisited it. I re-wrote some of the melodies, swapped out a bunch of sounds, tracked new vocals, and since I write mostly in midi, I brought in my fellow bandmates/collaborators, Stone Irr and Niles Gregory, to lay down the parts with their instruments. The writing process was fairly similar to most of my previous songs, but this was the first time I had worked with Stone or Niles in this capacity. 7. I heard Niles Gregory is behind guitar on the upcoming track, as well as Stone Irr on bass; what's the reason behind this choice of collaboration? Niles and I have been friends for several years now. He’s the person behind the lens in a lot of my press photos. It was only until a couple of years ago that we started working on music together. He’s an incredible guitarist and one of the nicest dudes you’ll ever meet. I asked if he’d be interested in playing on the record and he was game. He learned all the guitar parts as we tracked them and we did it in under an hour. Truly incredible. Stone Irr is also a dear friend and super talented artist in his own right. We’ve known each other since he moved to LA from Indiana a few years ago. He also plays bass in the live band and it’s a dream. Similarly, I asked Stone if he’d be up for tracking bass. He put on a big grin and the rest is history. Stone is also one of the nicest dudes you’ll ever meet. 8. What drew you to working with producer Kyler Hurley? I actually met Niles Gregory through my friendship with Kyler. Small world. Kyler and I have worked together on a bunch of my songs, including Bad @ Luv, One U Luv, and Lust for Luv. He’s an amazing producer and I’ve learned so much in the process of working with him. Once Niles and Stone had finished tracking all their parts, I asked Kyler to come over and listen through the track. We commonly share songs with each other to get feedback. He helped me fine-tune the production and get it to the next level. Also, in case I didn’t mention, Kyler is one of the nicest dudes you will ever meet. 9. If you could star in any movie, from any time period, what film would you choose? Why? This is a hard one! I have to go with the first one that came to mind - Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. It’s been a while since I last saw it but I was obsessed with it when I was younger. Ferris’ character seizes the day and explores the city with his two best friends. The Ferrari, the Street Fair scene, Mia Sara - a truly epic day. 10. What are your plans as a musician following the release of "Like The Movies"? There might just be a new album on the way...so I guess we’ll just have to stay in touch! "Like The Movies" is out now on all streaming platforms. Be sure to give it a listen <3 ----- Website: http://www.nyiko.com/ Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/3Hn1R1aSK2amaGEPRW85Ka?si=wX8l3N9lS8OKBdEW7D324Q Apple Music: https://music.apple.com/us/album/like-the-movies-single/1500342414?ls=1 Instagram: https://instagram.com/_nyiko_?igshid=r09ajk8q5hjp Twitter: https://twitter.com/_Nyiko_?s=09 YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgSnKp7OIRsxQPJt1YYKylg Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NYIKO/

10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page