top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMainstream Magazine

Prog-Hop Group Liquid Cypher Talk New Album "Fractaling"


Author: Eden Hey


Math… Rap? At first glance, the label seems so contradictory, it’s hard to believe that the two could blend together successfully. Rapping’s roots in hip hop and jazz scatting and math rock’s emphasis on technique and tone rather than lyrics almost oppose each other, but if done well, they fit together exquisitely. The equally prominent vocals, guitar, bass, and drums on Liquid Cypher’s debut album, Fractaling, is evidence that the two otherwise contesting genres can add so much depth to already captivating stories.


The “Prog Hop” band from Austin, TX blends styles and bends norms to create songs that appeal to listeners of all kinds. When asked about the band’s main influences, guitarist Mason Gay clarified that his work on the album is “...highly inspired by the prog/mathrock/Midwest emo sound”, with solos inspired by artists like CHON and Buckethead (Gay, Text Interview). That style is especially noticeable on tracks like “Glass” and “Spoof”, where the bright guitar solos dominate post-chorus sections without subtracting from any other parts. The theme of youth and innocence versus growth and hindsight is another aspect of Midwest emo music that shows itself in Liquid Cypher’s songs. Michael Moret’s passionate lyrics bring yet another layer of rich emotion. “I love [Kendrick Lamar’s] appreciation of lyrics and rhythm structure,” he explains, adding that Paramore, Dance Gavin Dance, and Childish Gambino also have a strong influence on his writing and performing style (Moret, Text Interview). Moret’s sheer skill for rapping over prog instrumentals paired with inspiration from Paramore’s fierce tell-it-like-it-is sound with the genuine and often intense writings of Lamar and Gambino tie the sounds of the album together. The band’s mix of catchy choruses with strong verses and complimentary musical styles pull listeners through complete emotional arcs from conflict to resolution.


Every song brings its own individual flavor to the album while still delivering complete cohesivity. Some focus on the storytelling, others are heavier on the instruments, but all of them beautifully highlight each artist in the four piece’s strengths. The changes in momentum from track to track truly reflect the way the human mind spins-- reminiscing on lost romance, confronting internalized problems, and enjoying simple conversations. From “Semi Sweet”, the smooth first track off the album (which features female vocals by Matte Welborn), to the darker, faster final track, “Still Breathing”, Liquid Cypher exposes the personal yet universally resonant parts of themselves for all to see, with a conclusion that leaves a sense of understanding and hope for whatever is to come.


---


Do you have a favorite song off of this album?


Mason: I think my personal favorite is either Turquoise or Sonic Chill.


Michael: Turquoise has a special place in my heart because it was the first song I heard from Mason. We met at a Chon concert and he showed me this song and I was blown away. I remember telling my mom “it feels like ive lived with asthma my entire life and this song was an inhaler. I’ve breathed for real for the first time”


I also really like Sonic Chill. It was a very ambitious song. Our engineer Sam Hinds of Sound Labs Studio in San Marcos TX asked me to sing the song really really high which allowed me to access a part of my voice I haven't accessed before. That was pretty cool. Plus my friend Matte Welborn came through for the vocals and killed it.


It seems like you have a strong 80’s rock mixed with late 90’s rap sound. What artists influenced you in this?


Mason: As far as the guitar goes, it is highly inspired by the prog/mathrock/Midwest emo sound. I have been a fan for years and always loved bands like CHON, Tiny Moving Parts, and Intervals. I do my best to write riffs similar in style and feel. The solos on the other hand are heavily influenced by my all time favorite guitarists, some of which include, Buckethead, Paul Gilbert, and Derek Trucks. Their sound lives in my head and they are pretty much my cornerstone of lead guitar playing.


Michael: Growing up I listened to alot of rap and alternative rock. On the rap side I listen to alot of Kendrick Lamar and Childish Gambino. I love Kendricks appreciation of lyrics and rhythm structure and I love Gambinos authentic sound.


Rock wise I listened to alot of Dance Gavin Dance and Paramore growing up. The screamer in Dance Gavin Dance is named Jon Mess and his lyrics are very syllabic and aggressive so I use that for my more aggressive parts. I just love everything about Hayley Williams and Paramore in general and I try to channel her energy when writing.


In “Semi Sweet”- where did the sampled conversation come from?


Michael: So I have this friend I work with often, her name is Matte Welborn. She is the singer that sang on Sonic Chill. To create the intro I took lyrics from all of the songs from the record and showed them to Matte. She picked her favorite ones and sang them while I rapped my favorite lyrics. I did this to create a kind of overture for the album. It gets you prepared for what you were going to hear. After that I realized that the song was still missing a more uplifted feel. I often use conversations and other “normal every day things” to brighten up music I work on. Ha, we just talked about what we were scared of, like KK slider from animal crossing and other random things.


Many of your songs bring up sensitive issues that are highly personal yet resonate with listeners, such as the connection to innocence, growing up, and lost happiness in “Fractaling”. What was the songwriting process like for you?


Michael: Mason sends me pretty complete songs and the songs always have a title. I try to take that and articulate whatever it is I’m feeling. Its like a controlled improv scenario. For instance when he sent me the song Floral I had been seeing a girl who loved flowers so i decided to gear the song about that. I like this process because I’m usually very controlled and this process allows me to just be free.


Why did you choose “Fractaling” to be the title track?


Mason: I think it has the most longevity. I'm kinda big on patterns and geometric shapes, and I like the idea of that pervading everyday life. There's patterns everywhere you look even in non-obvious places, so if you look hard enough you'll probably find some. I think Michael does a really good job of developing stories behind a broader concept which is just the name of the song I send him. Also the tapping parts in “Fractaling” are kinda supposed to be the endless shapes all fractaling out from each other for eternity, kinda thing.


Michael: It was one of the last songs we finished and it just felt like it encompassed everything.


---

17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page